Disney Foodie

Food just tastes better at Disney…probably due to the Disney magic! We eat at different places every time but here’s a recap from this trip! It’s very important to snag your reservations right when you can; 60 days prior to your trip. Even then sometimes it can be difficult to get your preferred restaurant. We also went during the Epcot Food and Wine Festival! I was able to try more food & drinks than ever before because I went with a larger group who also wanted to try everything! That’s the best way to do it because when everyone shares you get to try a little of everything!

We got to the hotel around 6 that evening. I used the mobile ordering option on the app to buy dinner and our hotel cups from our dining room at the Art of Animation. Patrick got a large pizza which was a great deal at only $14. It would usually be enough for 2 people but he was starving! I had a grilled chicken sandwich with fries and it was good as well. We always buy a hotel cup, not only because I collect them, but when you’re staying for a week it definitely pays for itself. I was excited to try some of the 50th-anniversary sweets! Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. The macaroon was very stale and I wasn’t a fan of the flavor of the cheesecake.

50th Anniversary Cheesecake

We began the week at the 50’s Prime Time Cafe at Hollywood Studios. They have a super cute atmosphere and the waitresses act like pushy 50’s mom’s it’s a fun family time! They have a classic menu of fried chicken, pot roast, and meatloaf. I tried the meatloaf for the first time and it was delicious! It’s on the more moderate price range of the sit-down dining options and the food is always delicious. We had lunch at the ABC commissary, I had their grilled chicken club and it was delicious! But they have a nice cool place to sit and take a break for a while as you eat lunch.

Monday at Magic Kingdom we had lunch at Pecos Bills, again using the mobile order option. It was good as usual. I got the chicken nachos but I think I’d get beef next time. The chicken didn’t have a ton of flavor. Due to covid they no longer have their big bar of lettuce, tomatoes, condiments, etc. but it’s still a favorite MK lunch spot. For dinner, we ate at Liberty Tree Tavern, another favorite for us all. It’s a family-style meal with thanksgiving style food including, turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and more. They had a new dessert this time of some kind of toffee lava cake and ice cream and it was AMAZING. Probably the best dessert I’ve ever had there. They were running behind on the reservation and it seemed like they were a bit short-staffed.

Gingerbread Gift box from The Grand Floridian

Tuesday was our Epcot day! We didn’t make any dinner reservations because we knew we wanted to eat around the world. We had an awesome day munching and drinking. The food changes each year but there are some items that come back. I think my favorite food this year was in Morocco, it was all amazing. My favorite drink was a tie between the slushie in France and my Wild Passion Margarita in Mexico. I’ve added a description below each photo, even though the festival is over this year you can keep these suggestions in mind for next year!

Beignet aux Trois Fromages- not my favorite, Coq au Vin, Pommes Dauphine, Strawberry Rose Mimosa, & La Passion Martini Slushy- delicious! all from France
Teriyaki Chicken Bun- Japan
These drinks were from the Japan area
The entire Tangierine Cafe menu & it was all amazing
Spanish-style Paella; Charcuterie; & Wine flight from Spain
Kenyan Coffee Barbecue Beef Tenderloin with Sweet Potato & Corn Mealie Pap and Kachumbari Slaw
Apple Strudel & Schinkennudeln from Germany
Mexico Pavilion- My Wild Passion Marg was amazing with Chilaquiles con Chorizo

By Wednesday my feet were screaming! We had a short day at Animal Kingdom. I always get a Starbucks coffee there for some reason. Patrick tried this giant cookie and it was not that great. I also had a mickey pretzel and yes, they do taste better in mickey form. We left around noon and headed to Disney Springs and of course, had to eat at our favorite spot there: the Polite Pig! I took my parents and aunt there for the first time and they loved it too! Their brisket and mac & cheese is out of this world. Continuing our BBQ theme, we had dinner at the Whispering Canyon at Fort Wilderness Lodge. It’s a different twist on the family-style meal. They have 3-4 main course options: All pork, chicken & fish, a mix, and a vegetarian option. So, our family each gets a different one of the meal types and then we all share. It is all you can eat so you can always order more of something. There are also a few options like a steak that aren’t all you can eat. The staff is supposed to be rude to you and our waitress was hilarious picking on people at our table and embarrassing my 13-year-old cousin.

everything at the Polite Pig is amazing
Whispering Canyon

Back at Magic Kingdom the next day we had lunch at the Columbia Harbour House. I hadn’t eaten there in a long time and was very disappointed with the food. Thankfully I had the chicken tenders but most of my family had the fish and it was extremely greasy. It even gave a few of us a stomach ache so I wouldn’t go back there. Patrick and I were unable to get dining reservations with everyone else at Be Our Guest, but we were able to get in with them the day of! You can’t make dinner reservations for a group over 6 which is super stupid and inconvenient for large families like ours. This means each individual family unit has to make a reservation for their own family and we make them as close together in time as possible and then when we get to the restaurant we ask to be seated together or close to each other. Sometimes they’re able to accommodate and sometimes they aren’t but we always ask! I’d only been to Be Our Guest once when they first opened and I was not impressed. However, I’m happy to report that this time was a totally different experience! It was beautiful of course but the food was amazing. It’s a 3-course meal and definitely one of the more expensive options. I had lobster bisque, the filet mignon, and then it comes with a dessert sampler. The steak and dessert were delicious but next time I’ll be getting the charcuterie board like my husband did. They have a special dessert for the kiddos and they get to paint their own chip cup! It was very cute.

Be Our Guest

Friday we spent the first part of the day in Disney Springs and had lunch at Earl of Sandwich. I had The Montagu(had too) and it was delicious, they really do have the best sandwiches. For dinner, I’d finally managed to get a reservation for 2 at Ohana! I’d been there once 6-7 years ago and remember it being amazing. It was very good but not as good as the first time I went. It’s family-style Polynesian food including, chicken, noodles, shrimp, steak, and more. The noodles were amazing but the steak was way overcooked and tough. There was bread pudding for dessert which was very disappointing. Overall, I don’t think I’d pay to go there again, the food was not worth the price. We had a dole whip float down by the pool afterward and that, of course, was delicious.

Ohana

We finished out our trip to Animal Kingdom for Patrick’s birthday. He loves nachos, I’d venture to say they’re his favorite food. And there’s no better place for nachos than The Rainforest Cafe. We shared the huge nachos, I had a burger and he had the ribs, steak, and shrimp trio. We went early around 4:30 so it was quieter than usual and we had a great meal.

I’ve included a link to the Disney website where you can see the menus & prices for all these restaurants! Please comment below any questions you may have, I’m happy to help if I can! I can’t wait to get back to Disney and this delicious food!

https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/dining/


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

2 responses to “Disney Foodie”

Leave a comment